New blogger: Nina Jensen on working smart and writing well

I left my home country Denmark a year ago to be a postdoc here at KI, so I could continue my journey as a young scientist. My scientific passion is understanding biological mechanisms, especially what goes wrong in diseases, and even more so when these diseases develop in the brain. Currently, I am trying to understand how the blood-brain barrier is regulated.

But science is not my only passion, and to also enjoy life outside of science, I try to be efficient and disciplined with my time. I learned time management when I started university because, at the same time, I chose to fulfill a life-long dream of mine—I bought a dressage horse. Horses are very expensive to keep, and they take up a lot of time. I spent hours on my horse every day (and I still do), and I worked during weekends and holidays to pay for it. I also got into marathon running with my sister, and we traveled around Europe running marathons. Meanwhile, I was still determined to get good enough grades to enter graduate school and then get my PhD. So I learned to plan, be efficient, and prioritize.

 

In a University, we are surrounded by enthusiastic, skilled, and hardworking people. But, it seems to me that many of us work harder than we need to, and at the same time, we feel like we are not getting enough done. The god news is, it doesn’t have to be this way. Maybe you don’t need to dedicate your whole life to science to be successful, maybe you should rather spend some of that dedication on planning and prioritizing.

I will write posts on how to work smart and make the most out of your time. I will share tips and tricks, but I will also dig a little deeper and see what the scientific literature has to say on time management. Scientific writing will also be an occasional topic, as this is another passion of mine. To be successful scientists, we need to learn to write a lot, but we should also strive to make the scientific literature enjoyable to read. Let’s dig out the verbs, write jargon-free, and find our active voice.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

