March for Science: the after

Among the crowd of signs we walked.

As you can probably tell, many of us bloggers feel strongly for the March for Science last Saturday. To be honest, I had some apprehensions but in the end I decided to go was better than not.

One sentiment that I have frequently heard from those not attending the March is that it is highly politicised and it will polarise the already polarised population even further. The fears and doubts some people have are irrational, and simply throwing facts at them, as you might have heard, is not the most effective way to persuade them. Do we do this when we march, do we portray ourselves as the elite enlightened ones, exuding “I’m right, you’re wrong” aura? Even if we do not, we may very well be viewed as such.

As I stood there in front of the stage, with fewer and fewer people around me even as the talks went on still, I wondered if this situation is an apt example that underscores my greatest concern. I mean, I would argue that the talks are more important than the March itself. But are we satisfied with the phenomenal, that we are under the illusion that we have marched and thus have done our part, but then go about our lives without striving to bring about change?

If anything, the March leads me to reflect about my vocation as a scientist, and I hope it does greater good to you and the society at large.

Leave a Reply

