Workshop at Rånäs slott

Researcher’s life could be a chaos. Sometimes, there is no strict difference between vacation and working days. I often see my boss flying around the world for different meetings, participating in conferences and working in parallel. I could not think how people could adjust to different time and place so easily. However, this time, I have to.

On the day I finished my vacation and took my flight back to Sweden, a taxi was already waiting for me at the airport. It was 5 pm, but I have to rush to Rånäs slott, where takes 1 hour by taxi from the Arlanda airport. My co-supervisor Fang Fang has organized a Neuroepidemiology workshop there focusing on amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and Parkinson’s disease (PD). There are more the 20 guests joining the workshop from Karolinska Institutet, Sweden and the National Institutes of Health, USA.

Rånäs slott
Spring/summer at Rånäs slott (http://www.ranasslott.se/)
Dinning hall
Dinning hall at Rånäs slott

Although it is a castle (slott), it is the Swedish style, which means only a quite big house with some small side-houses and a nice yard. Well, I should not complain that much since everything is free for the participants. The yard is ideally beautiful and perfect for a weeding ceremony. Hmm, I might think too much~ 🙂

Guest room at Rånäs slott
Guest room at Rånäs slott

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A barbecue dinner was served and the guest room was cozy. After the dinner, jet-lag drove me into bed directly but I woke up at 4 am in the morning to prepare a presentation that was planned to give later. Oh yes! Work directly after the vacation…

 

IMG_2205
A beautiful picture describing a hypothesis causing PD – from a speaker.
Leave a Reply

