I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride my bike!

Katie Melua was singing once that there are 9 million bicycles in Beijing. Well, we don’t have that many is Stockholm, because whole population of Sweden is roughly 9 million people, but definitely Stockholm is bike-friendly.

Whole winter I was imagining myself riding bicycle just like in song by Queen. Then spring has come and I kept postponing buying my own bicycle. You can find some rusty ones for around 700 SEK, but if you want something more decent, prepare to spend around 1500-2000 SEK for second hand bike. Also I know myself pretty well and I knew that there are going to be lazy days when bus is the only option. So Milind gave me the solution to my problem: Stockohlm City Bikes!

Stockholm City Bikes stand near KI campus Solna.
Stockholm City Bikes stand near KI campus Solna.

 

This is an easy rental system – they have around 100 stands around the city and hundreds of bikes. So if you pay just 250 SEK you can use the whole system from April to October. There are two limitations: you can rent a bike only from 6 am to 10 pm and also the bike must be returned within 3 hours. Check out their map to see where you can find stands.

Stockholm City Bikes iOS app
Stockholm City Bikes iOS app

They also have helpful app for iOS and Android, so you can check in real-time where and how many bikes are available.

So far I’m really happy with this solution. Bikes are usually ok – all have 3 gears and front rack for some small load. Now for 250 SEK I kind of own hundreds of bikes in Stockholm and still I can just leave it in a stand and take a bus on my lazy day.

Leave a Reply

