Last week of April was great!

Hej,

Today is 1st of May, also known as Labour Day. 1st of May is a non-working day for most people in Sweden, but since I’m such a hardworking person I’m spending my Labour Day in the lab trying to deal with this thing we call cancer. Fortunately I’m not alone in the lab. One of the worst things about working during the weekend/holiday is when there is no one around. I feel so uninspired and unmotivated. The advantage though is that I have all the machines for myself, no waiting time.

Mine only for today!
This machine is mine only for today!

Anyway, the last week of April was quite a nice week. First off it’s the week that salaries are paid. Second, I bought concert tickets for the South Korean group 4Minute. Only once before has a Korean group held a concert in Sweden so it’s quite a big deal. The person I’m going with is actually attending a scientific conference in South Korea now (I’m not jealous at all). Third, my post about scientists and social media got a lot of attention, more attention than I expected. I’m glad that people agree with me and think that it is an important topic. So thanks everyone for reading, sharing and commenting!

The biggest news though was that my colleague got her research article (which I’m a co-author of) accepted for publication. This is a project that she had worked on for 5 long years. But in the end all the hard work paid off. The interesting thing about this project is that it’s related to the discoveries that lead to the Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology in 2013. The 2013 Medicine or Physiology Nobel Prize discoveries were about the complex transport system in our cells. Basically meaning how molecules are being transported from one place to another in the cell. In the article we show how the protein we are working on, IGF-1R (insulin-like growth factor 1 receptor), is being transported from the surface of the cell into the nucleus (where the DNA is located) of lung cancer cells. This study is important because cancer cells have a larger amount of IGF-1R in the nucleus compared to healthy cells. In order to develop medicines that block the transport of IGF-1R into the nucleus in cancer patients, we must first understand the molecular mechanism behind this transport and THAT mechanism is what my colleague’s article is about.

One thought on “Last week of April was great!

Leave a Reply

