When a Chinese (me) first heard about Sweden

Hi everyone, this is Fei. I am currently a PhD student at the Dept. of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB), Karolinska Institutet. I come from China and has been in Sweden for almost 5 years.

Ok, it’s enough for self-intro.  🙂

This is my first blog here as a Digital Ambassador of KI. As in all books telling “The story began from a long long time ago”, I wanna start my journey here by taking back 5 years to where I knew I’m gonna leave home and land this mysterious land, Sweden. Just gossiping how I reacted when I heard about Sweden.

Where is Sweden?

I came to Sweden first for a master program at KI. Well, back 5 years ago in 2009, I was about graduating from a medical school in China and was feeling desperate to go abroad for further education. Luckily I found Karolinska, although I did not realize that KI is sooooo famous in medical world.

(blame my ignorance @_@! —- I was A nobody!

Back then, Sweden was not attractive at all . Come on, at that time, general public in China only knew a table tennis athlete, Waldner as an “old fart” or nicely called “evergreen tree”, who is from Sweden but always get himself on the way thwarting Chinese victory.  —-That’s all!

1024px-Flag_of_Sweden.svg
Sweden
Switzerland

 

flags are actually quite different, hah~?

 

 

So, before my departure, quite a few of my friends asked me to bring some nice watches back, and I agreed…..I am really sorry! Switzerland was too outstanding on its reputation of fine watch in China. And in our language, the difference between these two countries are fairly small – Rui Shi (Switzerland) vs. Rui Dian (Sweden). Therefore, no one knew Sweden!

 

Swedish must be giants!

I also had thoughts that Swedish people should be very tall (given the latitude), like the one in northern part of China, on average 1.8 m; thus I might not find any cloth in the mall. Obviously, I was wrong too.

Dutch people are taller, or maybe the tallest one as a nation in the world.

But now, I know that neither Sweden is famous for the watch, nor Swedish are giants.

Leave a Reply

